Skip to content

Thalia Mara

November 5, 2011

It was under Thalia Mara and her leadership of the Jackson Ballet that I began to study in earnest. The opportunities she provided me were unlimited and the doors she opened for me priceless. I owe her a great debt for the kindness and determination she instilled in just not me, but all of the dancers that had studied with her. It is though her I am able to trace my dance heritage to Michel Fokine and met such great men as Sir Anton Dolin. Her classes were primarily Russian in make-up, demanding and intense. I loved every minute of them………

It was though her determination and incredible vision the U.S. International Ballet Competition (IBC) came to Jackson, Ms.

‘Founded in 1978 by Thalia Mara, the first USA International Ballet Competition took place in 1979 and joined the ranks of Varna, Bulgaria (1964); Moscow, Russia (1969); and Tokyo, Japan (1976). These first competitions were given sanction by the International Dance Committee of UNESCO’s International Theater Institute. Today, international ballet competitions flourish worldwide, and the USA IBC in Jackson remains one of the oldest and most respected competitions in the world. In 1982, the United States Congress passed a Joint Resolution designating Jackson as the official home of the USA International Ballet Competition. Jackson held subsequent competitions in 1982, 1986, 1990, 1994, 1998, 2002 and 2006.’

From → Ballet, Video

Comments are closed.

