Skip to content

The Cold Song: Choreography by Benoit-Swan Pouffer, Cedar Lake Contemporary Ballet

July 12, 2012

 

The Cold Song

Choreography: Benoit-Swan Pouffer

Music: The Cold Song, sung by Klaus Nomi.

Cedar Lake Contemporary Ballet

The Cold Song is from Henry Purcell’s King Arthur, 1691

King Arthur or, The British Worthy is a semi-opera  in five acts with music by Henry Purcell and  libretto by John Dryden. It was first performed at the Queen’s Theatre, Dorset Garden, London, in late May or early June 1691.

The Cold Song (Lyrics)

What Power art thou,
Who from below,
Hast made me rise,
Unwillingly and slow,
From beds of everlasting snow

See’st thou not how stiff,
And wondrous old,
Far unfit to bear the bitter cold.

I can scarcely move,
Or draw my breath,
I can scarcely move,
Or draw my breath.

Let me, let me,
Let me, let me,
Freeze again…
Let me, let me,
Freeze again to death

From → Video

Comments are closed.

